Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.

~Groucho Marx

    Ok, that was on a lighter note but seriously, I love reading. Isn’t it true that books are the only pass-time that you don’t need to depend on anything or anyone else for? Whoever said ‘a book is man’s best friend’ definitely wasn’t kidding.

    As much as I enjoy reading, I don’t read every book or magazine I set my eyes on. I’m very author specific and very book-type specific, meaning, I read only fiction and avoid non-fiction at all costs. I generally like thrillers, esp medical thrillers (yes, robin cook is my favorite author) though I don’t mind any novel as long as it has an interesting storyline and an easy to follow writing style. Oh yeah, I stay clear of self help books! The only self help book that I ever bought was “The Quick and Easy Way to Effective Speaking” that still adorns my bookshelf, untouched. By the way, if you’ve got a nice romantic novel to share, please keep it with yourself…I don’t read that kind either! ditto for science fiction!

    The ‘Books’ catagory would probably be the only one that might get updated in this blog cos that was what I created the blog for. Here you’ll find my thoughts about the books I’ve read recently, the books I’ve read ages back, the books that have touched me (not many have, in the sentimental way), the books I like, the books I regret having spent money on…anything about books, for that matter.

                               =-=-=-=-=-=-=

Related Posts:

Chicken Soup for the Soul
Most Boring Book
The Third Twin

