“Welcome to the real world. It sucks. You’re gonna love it”

That’s a line from F.R.I.E.N.D.S. The context is something like this: Racheal, who was until then rich and spoilt, decides to become independent and take up a job. Her friends make her cut (literally) her credit cards, for which her dad pays the bill. After much apprehension and quite a bit of cajoling from her friends, she finally cuts them, at which Monica says,’Welcome to the real world. It sucks. You’re gonna love it’.

When I was watching the episode, this line somehow caught my eye (or is it ear?) and stayed in my, otherwise, volatile memory. There are times, when I feel reality sucks and wonder why things are the way they are, never the way I want them to be. At those times, I kinda get reminded of this line and strangely, it brings a smile :) (how long the smile lasts is a different aspect though). If you’re wondering what am getting at, well…nothing! just another drifting thought…

